Casablanca

mrsl

Casablanca

Post by mrsl »

I'm not very good at in-depth critique, like Moira and Lynn are, so rather than trying to do that, I'll just answer a couple of my own questions and hope that someone picks it up from there.

Why do I love this movie?

Hah. I've seen it so many times I can almost quote half the scenes. I love the overall mystique of what is going to happen to those darn letters. I love the affair between Ilsa and Rick. I love ALL the employees of Ricks, from the bartender, to the croupier, to Sam. The only thing I would add, not necessarily to this movie but an adjunct to it would be the background of all these people and how and why they all ended up in Casablanca.

Would I recommend this movie?

I would recommend it to anyone who would possibly listen. It's hard to find people willing to watch a black and white movie that happens to be older than me (making it older than dirt). But it is worth a try.

Why have I watched it over and over?

Every time, and I mean EVERY time, I really do see something different. It may only be a dress, or a look, or a background but there is always something new. I also love to analyze the characters involved. They are all so different and diverse. Some seem perfectly happy to be there, and others can't wait to get away.

To me this movie has all the elements you could care for to keep you engrossed for a couple of hours, I only wish I had been able to see it when it first came out. But in re-thinking that, I believe knowing how the war actually was being handled, and how it ended adds to the enjoyment of the story.

Anne
Anne

* * * * * * * * What is past is prologue. * * * * * * * *

]***********************************************************************
Mr. Arkadin

Post by Mr. Arkadin »