Movies and the Lessons Of Life

Ollie

Movies and the Lessons Of Life

Post by Ollie »

I'm grateful that this forum lets me achieve friendships along the way. One of those friends has been seeking recent counseling and, while I'm no expert, I am happy to pass along whatever information I can.

Monster movies, for example.

"Yes, Virginia, I consider it important that, if you live in an urban environment, you learn how to handle giant mutant grasshoppers climbing up and down your building. Here - watch 1957's THE BEGINNING OF THE END, and you'll see what I mean."

And how many of us would know that, if we're in the garden or on some desert outing, we should whip out our tommy-guns around and blast away at the giant radioactive ants' antenna? Well, thanks to Edmund Gwynn, we know!

Now.

I don't know how I'd sleep at night if this precious friend's demise turned out to be a vacation mishap. Perhaps, while strolling around with her family at the North Pole, they look down and notice a flying saucer, buried in ice. I can certainly counsel her, "No no, don't use those thermo-bombs - it'll destroy the spaceship and the alien inhabitant will get very mad." And I don't care how much we might talk about vehicle insurance and deductibles, we all know that AIG and State Farm aren't paying off claims very well these days - that alien probably won't be happy with that kind of talk.

I'd be equally dismayed to discover this friend might suffer on another vacation, perhaps this time, south of the border. There's a choice of trains, and without great movie counseling, how should any passenger know that Willis O'Brien in on the loose and has unleashed hordes of giant scorpions who seem to delight in wrecking trains.

So, when the ticket-agent asks my friend if she wants the standard train or the armor-plated one with tanks and artillery, well, now that choice is easy!