Diary of a movie fan

Chit-chat, current events
Bogie

Diary of a movie fan

Post by Bogie »

I did a similar thing on the TCM boards but after being encouraged to, i'm going to try it out here. I'm not very good at synopses so I will use IMDB synopses as they are available. If I need to expand on them I will. Unfortunately for me the first movie doesn't have one. Luckily the story is pretty straightforward :)

Anyways my old thread was restricted to films on TCM but now I have better access to movies and I will be detailing all the movies I see. Some will be more recent then others and so on so forth.

So let's give this a shot starting with my next post.
Bogie

Post by Bogie »

The Nevadan 1950
Viewed on: Encore Westerns
Studio: Columbia Pictures

Starring

Randolph Scott ... Andrew Barclay
Dorothy Malone ... Karen Galt
Forrest Tucker ... Tom Tanner

Frank Faylen ... Jeff
George Macready ... Edward Galt
Charles Kemper ... Sheriff Dyke Merrick
Jeff Corey ... Bart
Tom Powers ... Bill Martin
Jock Mahoney ... Sandy (as Jock O'Mahoney)

Plot:

An outlaw (Tucker) escapes the law on the way to the US Marshall. In the midst of his escape he runs into a stranger (Scott) who he reluctantly becomes friendly with. The two men go to a bank where Tucker receives a mysterious map of his which leads to gold. Unbeknownst to Tucker and Scott the old gang that Tucker rode with sees what has happened and tries to get the map for themselves.

Unfortunately for the gang things don't go over so well for them. Tucker and Scott become more friendly overnight but during the night Tucker escapes and Scott follows him to a small town. That's where Scott meets Karen (Malone) with whom he becomes enamored with as he trades his lame horse for a better one.

Anyways, the gang works for a shady rancher (Faylen) who controls the town and he wants the gold come hell or high water. Scott catches on to things and protects Tucker.

My Thoughts